Welcome

About Handful of Horror 

Welcome to Handful of Horror! By the title, I’m sure you can tell that this website is about neither rainbows nor sunshine, but about media relating to mystery, crime, and horror. This blog will focus on podcasts, documentaries, YouTube channels, film, and TV shows. If you aren’t the type who revels in the macabre, don’t worry, this blog will not include any graphic material or jump scares, everything will be tasteful and SFW. At the top of each section, I will include tags that describe the content below to alert you as to what topics the post is specifically about.

About the Author

My name is Rashida Otunba and I am a journalism major at Georgia Southern University. I started this blog as a requirement for my Opinion Journalism class which means I will be updating weekly for a class grade (expect new posts every Friday). How did I stumble upon this topic you may ask? Honestly, I just love scary movies and shows! When I was a kid “Courage the Cowardly Dog” was one of my favorite shows, and it just grew from there. As I grew older, I learned to enjoy learning about true crime since my parents watched “America’s Most Wanted,” and “Unsolved Mysteries” non-stop. This love of true crime slowly but surely developed into a love of horror after I discovered Travel Channel’s “Weird Travels.” Long story short, with the invention of YouTube and the widespread popularity of podcasts, there is never a dull moment in the horror/mystery genre, and I hope to update you all about it in this blog!

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome”

  1. I have never been a fan of horror movies and scary stuff in general, but maybe with your blog you can change my mind. Can’t wait to read what you have in store for us this semester.

    Like

  2. I’m interested in reading your blog this semester.My favorite genre of movies is horror, though I do believe recent horror movies don’t have the same suspense as the older horror movies. I’ve also listened to some podcast about conspiracy theories, but never horror. I’m interested to read what podcasts you listen too this semester.

    Like

Leave a Reply

